Mind the gap!

At the end of last year, as I crossed the last finish line of the last triathlon I was already planning the next race season.  Partly, this was to stave of the bummer feeling of not having an impending race–at least not a tri–to obsess over.  I quickly signed myself up for a couple half-ironman races and Ironman Florida.  Whelp, two down and one to go!  But sadly, there is now an almost six month gap until Ironman Florida 😦  So how to occupy the interim?

I have a couple plans in this regard.  One is to find a sprint and/or olympic triathlon at some point in the gap so that it doesn’t seem so brutal.  The other is to take on new goals that provide some motivation for maintaining base fitness.  With that in mind, I joined on to the Great Cycling Challenge for June!

I was introduced to the fundraising effort through our local bike shop guys at Barley’s.  The effort is a nationwide effort to raise money for children’s cancer research.  While Lauren and I have been blessed that none of our children have had any significant illnesses yet, like most people we have friends who are affected by childhood cancer.  If you are looking for some motivation to begin your own cycling journey, consider joining up!  If you’re interested in donating to children’s cancer research, please consider donating to the effort!  You can donate to my page or the effort in general.

https://greatcyclechallenge.com/Riders/JohnCalebFielding for my personal fundraising page or https://greatcyclechallenge.com/ if you would like to sign up or read more!

If for some reason you sign up, you’re in my area, and you don’t quite know where to start or want to log these miles solo hit me up and join on to a group ride in the Panama City area!

Author: John

Christian, husband, father of three, hobbier of random hobbies.

Leave a comment